Skincare Essentials

To all of you who were born blessed with a flawless-rivaling-the-angels-complexion… I envy you.

To all the rest of us:

Hey girl, I feel you.

I’ll be honest.  I didn’t have great skin growing up.  My daddy is the most handsome man around, but boy howdy, did I fall into his gene pool with a big ol’ belly flop when it came to skin.

Oily.
Acne prone – cystic acne prone.
Sensitive.

The blessed trifecta when you’re a girl, right?  –Just punch me in my already suffering face, please.–

In high school, I had acne so badly that my momma let me start wearing makeup earlier than she intended to allow simply because my skin was THAT bad.  I was so embarrassed all the time.  My skin hurt.  We tried different dermatology routes – oral meds, refrigerated meds, face wash meds.  Ugh.  It improved only slightly.

Over time I grew out of it and the peasants (aka, myself) rejoiced!!

That’s when my skin lowered the boom on me.

At age 23, my skin staged a wicked coup that I could not combat:

Cystic. Acne.

And here I thought I knew skin trouble and pain during high school.  That was peanuts.  Back to the dermatologist I went and with absolutely no avail.  I swear Doogie Houser just looked at me and said, “umm, I don’t really know what to tell you”.  Are you serious right now, Mr. Boy-Playing-Doctor??

I went home and cried.  And what do we do when we’re upset?

We go to Sephora, duh.

I was still red eyed and puffy when the sales clerk saw me browsing through the facial products, looking completely lost and overwhelmed.  She asked what I was looking for and I word vomited my skin care issues all over her.  Poor girl.  Her response?
“Honey, you have dry skin.  Here, try this and I promise you’ll feel better” and shoved a tub of First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream and DDF 10% Glycolic Acid gel cleanser into my hands.

I’ll admit, I doubted this girl, but I bought those two products and haven’t looked back.  How I wish I could remember her name because she changed my skin care routine!!!  Five years later and I haven’t looked back.  The products have changed (slightly) and I still experience occasional breakouts (hello, yes, I am still female).  You can shop all my essentials here!

So without further ado:

Skincare Essentials

  • Mario Badescu Glycolic Foaming Wash – $15
    If you have oily prone, acne prone skin — this stuff is the best.  It replaced my hero, DDF 10% Glyolic Acid Wash ($40-ish), with its price and effectiveness.  I only use this in the AM simply because, though my skin is oily prone, it can dry out VERY quickly and easily.
  • Boscia Makeup-Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil - $28
    This.  Is.  AMAZING.  I cannot wait to use this every day after work to get every speck of makeup – yes, even waterproof mascara – off my face.  Massage a pump or two onto dry skin, really work it in, then rinse off well.  Your skin will be clean, baby soft, and hydrated like you wouldn’t believe!
  • LUSH Cosmetics Mask of Magnaminty – $12.95
    YouTube… Jaclyn HillNicole Guerriero… you suckered me in!  Or maybe I’m just a sucker (there’s one born every minute, after all — strength in numbers, eh?).  My favorite aformentioned beauty gurus loved hard on this mask and for good reason.  This minty clay exfoliates, cleanses, purifies, and leaves your skin baby soft!  I use this mask once a week as part of my at-home facial routine.
  • Loreal Texture Perfecter Serum – $20-$30 (check for sales!)
    I finally caved after everyone and their mother on YouTube simply raved about this product.  Verdict:  they were right.  After a few days of use my skin started changing.  Can’t wait to see the results after one month.  ANYWAY — apply one pump all over face and neck after cleansing, and before your moisturizer.  Let it really absorb into your skin prior to applying your moisturizer.
  • First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream – $28
    I don’t know what I can say to sell this harder.  It’s been my best bud for over 4 years and ONE TUB has lasted me that long.  A little goes a long way!!!  I use this AM and PM.  I even got my momma sold on it!  Super gentle, hydrating, great for sensitive skin.  Love this whipped formula.  Just LOVE.
  • Mario Badescu Drying Lotion – $17
    I think this stuff is made of magic.  Not even kidding.  Don’t shake it up!  Camphor oil on top and calamine-esque lotion on the bottom, that’s about all I know aside from the fact the combo WORKS for eradicating blemishes.  Dip a q-tip all the way to the bottom then apply it to your blemish after washing and moisturizing.  Let it dry and sleep in it overnight (its not cute, by hey, neither is a blemish).  The next morning you’ll see the magic I mentioned…

Beautiful skin and love to you all!
~Charlie

Leave a Reply

