My First Impression: Essie Turquoise and Caicos

20140401-194147.jpgToday I purchased my first ever bottle of Essie nail polish. I know, I’m a little late to the bandwagon, but as they say, better late than never!

I have been admiring the Turquoise & Caicos color for a while now but was hesitant to spend the $8.50 that it costs at my local Walgreens. However, I decided to throw caution to the wind and purchased it with high hopes of it blowing my mind.

I was anxious to get home and try it out. Join me on my journey as I try it for the first time!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS
Color: This is similar to L’Oreal’s Not a Cloud in Sight that I have had (and love) since last summer. I’m hoping it goes on easily.

Consistency: This stuff is watery! Maybe I just got a weird batch? After applying my first coat I was highly unimpressed. It’s almost translucent and it’s a bit streaky and hard to apply evenly.

Applicator: I am not a fan of the small brush. It makes it hard to apply evenly. I prefer the flatter, thicker applicator brushes that can be found in Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure polishes or some of the new Wet & Wild polishes.

first coat

first coat

second coat

second coat

final product

final product

 

 

 

 

 

 

OVERALL IMPRESSION

I applied two coats of this and then applied a quick dry clear coat. I didn’t use a base or top coat since after two coats of polish my nails pretty much refuse to dry. The color is nice but not quite what I was hoping for. I’ll try his one again when I have more patience or maybe take it to the nail salon and have it professionally applied. I’m interested to see how long this will last without chipping.

Would I Purchase Again?
I’m not sure. Unless I found it on sale somewhere I probably wouldn’t reach for this brand again. Maybe I got a bad batch and maybe other colors are a better consistency. I know it’s normal to apply more than one coat of polish, but I like colors that apply well the first time and the second coat is more of a touch-up.

What are your thoughts about Essie polishes? Are they worth the money and all the hype? Share your thoughts below!
>

Leave a Reply

