First Impression – Ulta Illuminating BB Cream

As you know I’m on a kick right now to find the best product to even out my skin tone without making my crazy sensitive skin go insane. Confession time: I had never shopped at Ulta before! There aren’t really any close to where I work or live and I had never heard of them until Charlie told me about them. I decided to throw caution to the wind and order some products online. Happy day when I received these awesome new finds in the mail!

photo 1

Ulta BB Cream, Stila HD Beauty Balm Trio, Ulta Double Duty Foundation, Physicians Formula CC+

For some reason I was most excited about the Ulta BB Cream so I decided to give it a try first. Here’s my first impression on this product:

Claims:
Sheer cream formula moisturizes and protects while evening out skin tone to provide a natural finish. SPF 20 protection, Oil Free, Fragrance Free, and Hypoallergenic. This is available in four different shades: Light, Medium, Deep and Illuminating.Β 

(Clearly the hypoallergenic factor was a selling point for me – hello sensitive skin!)

photo 5Packaging:
Small white tube with a metallic, screw top lid. Pretty basic, not very flashy.

 

 

Swatch:
The formula is light and not too watery, but not too thick either. It has a good consistency and looks like it will match my skin tone well. Upon rubbing it in though I was surprised! I’m not sure what I thought “illuminating” meant but this has tiny little flecks of glitter/shimmer in it (not sure if it comes across in the photo or not).

photoMy First Impression:
This rubbed in well to my faceΒ and did provide a bit of a shimmer that I wasn’t expecting. I’d say that the coverage is very light – maybe I would have been better off with a different shade instead of the illuminating one if I wanted more coverage. It did feel a bit tacky on my face, which I attributed to the sunscreen in the product. I used my E.L.F. translucent powder to set it and that seemed to help. The product wore well, not settling into my dry patches, and the shimmer didn’t bother me too much. It’s hard to say how long this lasted since it was pretty sheer to begin with. A plus side to this though is that it did not irritate my skin or break me out – SCORE!

I would recommend this for someone who has sensitive skin and doesn’t have a lot of blemishes or redness to the face. This is best for very light coverage if you’re looking to add a hint of color/shimmer and an SPF to your routine. If you’d like to try this or one of the other shades available, stop by Ulta and score one now for only $5 (I paid $12.50 so get on this deal!).

Have you tried this BB Cream? What are some of your favorites? Leave a comment below!

p.s. I’m excited to announce that they are building an Ulta store near my house in Concord, CA! While I’m sad the db Shoes went out of business, if it means an Ulta coming to town I’m ok with it!

p.p.s. They’re also opening a Hobby Lobby in May…I feel a haul coming on…

Leave a Reply

