April Showers Bring… Favorites, of course!

I know “April Showers Bring May Flowers”… but so far these showers have just brought me a butt-ton of hail, tornadoes, and rain.  Nevertheless, I’m here to discuss a few of my favorite things from the month of April!

 

April Favorites

 

Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis – while it can be super scientific to read (like majorly, thoroughly, DETAILED), it has some very valuable information, education, and tips about wheat, diet, and the effect of both on the body.  And I’ve got to say, the Doc has some AT.TI.TUDE.  Slow down, son.  If $26 is too steep, check with your local library…

L’oreal Texture Perfecter Serum – I use this at night and in the morning after washing my face.  I can honestly say I’ve seen a difference in the texture of my skin!  I’m kind of shocked, I didn’t expect it to work this well haha and for $20, please don’t ever stop making this, L’oreal!

ROC Deep Wrinkle Repair Cream – this was recommended to me by a lovely girl on Instagram, oohlalabeauty91.  I’ve used it a week and so far I am LOVING IT.  It does burn (retinol, hell0) and it does have a steep drugstore price at $25.  But hey, it’s better than botox!

Origins Active Charcoal Mask – GREAT mask for clearing out impurities!  I use it once a week on “spa Sunday” to start the week off with a fresh, clean face.  I got this tiny little tube as a Beauty Reward from Sephora but I may just end up investing in the $16 full size mask!  (To add to my LUSH mask collection, of course)

Jordana Best Last Extreme Mascara – again, drugstore score (Walgreens, KMart).  At $3 this stuff cannot be replaced.  THE blackest BLACK, inky, volumizing, lengthening… AMAZING mascara.  I wear this sandwiched between coats of my Covergirl ClumpCrusher and it looks like I have false lashes (per questions of my mother and co-workers).

E.L.F Lip Exfoliator – pretty handy dandy little product for $3!  Using it as it instructs – dampen your lips, apply product, wipe off.  Simple + easy = AMEN.

Pssst Dry Shampoo – this little baby has replaced my beloved Batiste for my “go-to” dry shampoo.  Still love that Batiste is made for us brunettes.  But the cleansing power and smell cannot be beat by Psst Dry Shampoo.  Apply it AT YOUR ROOTS (don’t spray it onto the top layers of your hair), sleep on it, then brush it all out.  Miracle spray, truly.  I bought the travel size at $3 just to test it out.  SOLD.  New Holy Grail!

Kenra Blow Dry Spray –  I used this incorrectly for long that I’m JUST NOW understanding why this stuff is incredible, aside from just the smell.  I think it does cut down on my blow dry time and I KNOW it adds shine.  As a heat protectant, eh, I can’t speak to that.  I have the small $22 bottle and it has lasted me FOREVER.  A little goes a looooong way.  Too much and you’ll look like a piecey, greasy MESS.

Kenra Silkening Gloss – amazing for taming frizz, hydrating ends of the hair, and apparently works best when used with heat.  And the smell cannot be beat!!!  Check your local Ulta clearance aisle, I scored this for $6 (regularly $20).

Manly Indulgence Cigar Lounge candle – hold up.  This was previously a Neiman Marcus Exclusive Scent and I got it at TJ Maxx for $8!?!!?  I LOVED THIS CANDLE.  Every day after work I’d walk in, light the candle, take off my makeup, then sit back and RELAX.  It was an amazing smell.  I’m speaking in past tense since I know I’ll never find this again.  Waaaaa!  But.  I do have the “Suit & Tie” scent for May….

An Old Gray T-shirt – no this is not a favorite for sentimental value.  I honestly have no idea what male figure I know is now missing this XXL gray t-shirt from his collection.  Nor do I care.  I began using oversized cotton t-shirts to dry my hair in turban fashion straight out of the shower.  The result?  Healthier hair, less damage, less frizz.  Overall?  Win.

What were your favorites in April?!  Any recommendations for me to try next?

Looking for those May flowers,
~Charlie

Leave a Reply

