Summer Makeup Must-Haves! (oily/combination skin)

…Welp…

We skipped Spring here all together and are plunging head-long into SUMMER.
It was 90… NINE.TY… degrees here this past week!

The change of seasons means my makeup routine needs an entire overhaul to combat the sun, sweat, and tan-to-come!
((( So can’t wait for that last part! )))

Being out in the sun/heat whether it’s at the pool, the ball park, or just hanging out at the park with friends, I am NOT a fan of a high maintenance look.  When you step outside and get that “melted” look…

Girl.  Not cute.

Here’s what I stick with to keep my makeup functional, simple, and protective.
Don’t you dare skip that SPF, girl!

1. START WITH:
Benefit Cosmetics The Pore-fessional Primer – PAT this onto your skin, focusing on places where you are most oily.  Definitely helps your makeup stay put!  A little goes a long way so even though it’s expensive, it does last a while!

2. THEN ADD:
Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 20 – this is a year round favorite.  Keeps my skin hydrated with a light coverage that is buildable.  Perfect for summer!  After an hour too long at the pool my skin feels tight and painful, can’t wait to slather this baby on and head out carefree into the night with friends!

3. LIGHTLY APPLY:
Bare Minerals Matte Loose Powder – talk about a wonderful product.  Natural.  Simple.  Light.  SPF 15.  Doubles as concealer.  Gives you a flawless look for sure!  A sales rep taught me to tap a little bit of the product into the lid, swirl your brush around in the lid to “break down” the product before applying it.  For some reason this really changes the product so that it’s most effective once applied to your skin.  Anyone know the answer to this??

photo5

4. NEXT:
Maybelline Hi-lighter Blush – use a light hand to give yourself a flushed look (skip it if you’re sunburned or “sun kissed”).  Corals and peaches look amazing on most skin tones in summer to make you look healthy and glowing from the inside out!

5. ONTO THE:
Covergirl Waterproof Clump Crusher Mascara – I DEFINITELY need waterproof with as oily as I get and as much as I’m at the pool.  I do NOT like looking like a raccoon simply because I need to cool off in the water!  This stuff has been tried and true for me.  But don’t rub your eyes if you can avoid it…

6. LAST BUT NOT LEAST:
Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm – ALL NATURAL BABY!  LOVE this stuff for the Vitamin E and Peppermint Oil that hydrate, refresh, and give a tingling sensation.  I use this day and night.  I’ve tried nearly every lip balm on the market and this is my absolute favorite!

What are your summer must haves?!

Wishing you a beautiful start in all this heat…
~Charlie

Leave a Reply

