Color Foam 5K – Kansas City Edition

I made a goal with myself several years ago that I would participate in 30 different 5k runs by the time I turn 30.

Well, so far that has a been a total farce.

  • First of all, I am NOT an athlete, and I am most definitely NOT a runner.  So I don’t know what possessed me to make that deal with myself.
  • Second, I’m about as coordinated as an elephant having a seizure.  True story.  I’ve broken so many bones in so many bizarre ways that I’ve lost count.

But a Color Foam 5K voucher appeared on my Groupon or Living Social account in February or March.  And since my lovely friend/sissy/summer roomie, Jessica, is all about living life to the fullest with me — she said she would participate in the Color Foam 5K, as well.

I think the voucher was $20 and then the fees were $4.99?  But it was so long ago I can’t even remember now.  The cost included an official Color Foam 5K t-shirt and sun glasses in your choice of pink, green, or blue.

Here’s how it all went down…

photo1 (1)

Last weekend (May 10) was race day and we took our unprepared selves to Kemper Arena for the race WELL ahead of time.  But it allowed for some excellent people watching and a couple hours of Jock Jams being blasted by a DJ.

(Yes, I’m a product of the 80’s and felt my age that day…)

I’ve got to say, I was really impressed at how smoothly registration was and by how many FAMILIES came out and brought their kids!  I loved seeing everyone be active and healthy and teaching younger ones that fitness can be fun!  It was great!  

(Says the girl who’s ten different kinds of out of shape…)

I didn’t train, I didn’t prepare, and I definitely felt the effects of my lack of foresight for this race.  Thankfully it was a walk/run/fun type of 5K… Perfect for a lazy shlump like myself!  Not even 5 minutes in and I was in pain.  Jess mercifully walked/jogged along with me.  And 40-ish minutes later, she encouraged me to RUN through the finish line.  I hauled butt.  And it felt pretty good.  All 500 feet that I sprinted haha

But most importantly, we had FUN.  I saw parts of Kansas City I never knew existed.  Landscape, historical buildings, etc… It was a BEAUTIFUL day weather wise as well!  And can I just say, I’m a kid at heart, and I LOVED all the foam and color guns.

If you ever have the chance to participate, DO IT!  It’s a blast!  Here’s how we looked afterwards… colorful, tired, and happy 🙂

photo3 photo2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On to my next 5K on May 24…
~Charlie

Leave a Reply

